On Three Reasons for Writing a Blog

My name is Mitch. If you’re reading this, you most likely already know that. I’ve always wanted to do this (start a blog, I mean) but I’ve always thought that I didn’t have time, or that I wouldn’t be able to keep it up. However, if you know me well you probably know that this semester I have taken a medical withdrawal from school (that story will come later, in a later post), which, for now at least, gives me ample time to read and write and interact with you via this blog. That being said, almost every blog that I have ever read has begun with a post about why the person blogging wants to blog, what they’ll be writing about, etc. So, in keeping with tradition, I will do just that.

There are a few different reasons for my writing this blog, but I will do my best to keep this inaugural post brief so that I don’t lose you immediately. So, without further ado, here are my top three reasons for writing this blog.

1.    I really enjoy writing. This reason comes with an explanation. When I was in high school, I almost always dreaded writing assignments and essays. When I graduated high school, I went to a gap year program called IMPACT 360 (you can visit their website here, and you should because they’re awesome) and it was there that I started to develop a love for writing. Why? I didn’t quite know the answer to that question until recently, but I think I do now. It’s because as I got into studying things that I’m passionate about and things that I enjoy, I started to love thinking through them by writing. I’d tell you what I’m passionate about, but that would totally ruin points 2 and 3, so I won’t do that just yet. I will however, give you an example.

When I was sixteen, I had to write a book report on a book called Ethan Frome. I like novels a lot. I enjoy reading fiction. That being said, I absolutely hated Ethan Frome. I don’t remember what my book report on Ethan Frome said, but I’m sure it was absolutely dreadful. To be fair, Ethan Frome might be a fine novel, and maybe I just didn’t appreciate it as a sixteen year old kid. Either way, my report on it was not good, because I wasn’t passionate about it. On the other hand, earlier this year I wrote a paper for a course called “History of the Christian Church.” I wrote that essay on John Calvin’s ecclesiology (or, doctrine of the Church). Because the Church is something that I am passionate about (spoiler alert, that’s point 3), that piece of writing was better than my report on Ethan Frome. I enjoyed writing it, my professor enjoyed reading it, and it was a far better situation than the one I mentioned previously.

C.S. Lewis wrote something awesome on the subject, and he wrote it far more eloquently than I can. Lewis is the author of a ton of great stuff, but some of his most highly regarded works are children’s fiction (namely, The Chronicles of Narnia series). I recently read this essay (one of his more well known ones) on why these works appeal so much to both children and adults. You should really read it, but in short, it gets at the point that we write best when we’re writing about things that we enjoy, or would enjoy reading. That doesn’t even begin to do the essay justice though, so give it a read if you have time. I also wanted to include it because it inspired the title of this post, and I would not want to rip off a great. So there you have it, point one.

2.    I love to learn and teach the Bible. When I had to withdraw from school this semester, one of the greatest sources of disappointment came from the fact that I would not be in my Bible classes, nor would I be teaching the Bible to anyone. I feel at home in teaching and preaching, and going months without being able to do that was a really terrible thought to me. When I’m at school in Columbia, SC, I have the privilege of preaching on Wednesday nights at Kirkland Correctional Institution. I have learned more from the men there than I have from almost anyone else, and you will hear more and more about them in later posts. Because the Lord has given me a heart for that place, I was naturally grieved by the thought that I would not be able to be there for a while. So far, point number two sounds like a sob story so I will get to the good news. The good news is this: our learning of the Bible is not confined to a classroom, or even a church building. Nor is teaching it! One of the most wonderful things about the Church is that the Lord uses the body to build one another up. God uses His people to encourage His people. I am constantly encouraged by those who are passionate about God and his Word, and my prayer is that He would use this blog to encourage you. As I study the Scriptures, I want to be able to discuss those with you. So, as I post things of that nature, please, interact with it. Let’s get after the Word together.

3.    I love the Church. The Lord has given me a passion for this. This blog is not about my writing, or my desires. It’s about Christ’s desire for the Church to come together. We see it all throughout the Gospels. In Matthew 6, Jesus prays “Our Father” and he continues to pray in that fashion (give us today our daily bread, etc.). Perhaps one of my favorite verses about church unity comes from another one of Christ’s prayers, specifically the one known as “the High Priestly prayer” in John 17. Jesus prays that the Church would come together as one. Look at John 17:20-22. Jesus has just prayed that the believers of that time would be sanctified by the truth as they go into the world. Now, he turns his attention to future believers (which is where you and I come in!):

“I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me. The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one.”

The fact of the matter is that Christ has a deep desire for the Church to be one. Isn’t it amazing that in this prayer so many years ago, Christ actually prayed for you and me? That you and I, as part of the same body would come together as one? Jesus desires for us to come together and contend for the Gospel. By his grace, and only by his grace, we can do so.

Thank you for reading. Please, continue to do so. Interact with the things that I write. Feel free to contact me through the contact information in the “Contact” page. Through our faith in Jesus, and a true love for the Gospel, we can truly be the undivided Church, as it was designed.

Grace,

Mitchell Aldridge

Leave a Reply

